Posted in Requires Travel, Sporty Chance/Heart Stopping Adventures, State of Mind

#268 – Kiss the Blarney Stone

Can’t believe it’s been 6 years since my mom, sis, and I went on an adventure to Ireland. (year 2010) It had always been a dream of my mom to visit the land of her ancestors. All three of us were able to find time to get away together and go for about 2 weeks traveling all around the lower half of Ireland. Seeing as much of the different sites as we could cram in. One of our stops was visiting the city of Cork and the Blarney Stone.

I hadn’t realized that the Blarney Stone was located in a tower in a park. We were very fortunate to have a gps device that helped us find it on the outskirts of Cork. It was very beautiful. We walked up to the tower and found out that there lots of steps in a narrow staircase to get to the top. My mom wasn’t sure if she wanted to go up, but we convinced her to give it a try.Ireland Blarney Stone 4Then it was a walk along the wall to the other side to get to the stone. That’s when I learned another thing about the stone. In order to kiss it, one had to get on their back, lean over an empty space that had no safety net, and lean backward to kiss the stone. There were hand rails to hold onto and a guy that helped hold onto you and that was all for stopping one from falling through the hole.Ireland Blarney Stone 5But, we were there and it was a “bucket list thing to do” so I gathered up my courage and got a good hold on those rails. I scooted further and further until only my legs were on the walkway and had to lean further backward than I thought to kiss it. I touched my lips to the stone very lightly and quickly so I can get back upright and away from the empty space as soon as possible.

Ireland Blarney Stone 6
me
my sis
my sis

It was scary, but fun. I don’t know if i received the gift of gab that the legend says you’d get for kissing the stone. But I have become more outspoken and do try to talk to people I don’t really know, so maybe it worked.

Ireland Blarney Stone 3If you’ve kissed the Blarney Stone, what was your experience? And have you become more chatty?

 

Share Your Thought

