Posted in Sporty Chance/Heart Stopping Adventures

First Half Marathon

I always thought that people were crazy doing half and full marathons, that I would never be able to go that distance running.  In 2010, I learned from a friend that she would run/walk these 13.1 mile races.  It stunned me.  I never considered that someone could  walk it.  Guess I always pictured running because that’s what you see on the news when they talk about these events.  The more I thought about it, the more it made sense that one could indeed run and walk marathons.  So, I signed up for the half marathon in March celebrating St. Patrick’s day.  It’s also one of the starting half’s in the area for the running season.  I thought, perfect, this gives me a couple of months to train.  And a great way to kick start my goal of getting back in shape and living a healthy lifestyle again.

Well, I didn’t really get off my butt for training, but I was still determined to do the race.  Quick enough race day came, and we met up at the start.  I remember walking most of it, and was probably pretty slow going for my friend.  She was very nice in staying with me and my other friend who joined in for her first half marathon.

24603_1313923461289_7237747_n

Half way through the race!
Half way through the race!

I loved the atmosphere and the attitude of all the racers.  They were so happy (most of them) and a lot dressed up for St. Patrick’s day.  That’s when I learned how often there were themes to races that people would dress for (especially wearing tutus).  I hadn’t realized how much I missed being around athletes, like I used to be with swimming, until I was surrounded by them again.  That’s what got me hook on racing again.  I am not much for running, but I definitely am for doing more races.

shamrockn marathon 2010-M

My goal is to properly train for a half marathon and see what kind of time I could do running the whole thing.

Share Your Thought

