Posted in On This Day, Requires Travel, State of Mind

On This Day: JFK Died

53 years ago (November 22, 1963) President John F. Kennedy was assassinated as he rode in a motorcade through Dealey Plaza in downtown Dallas, Texas.

Standing next to that spot just 3 days ago, pondering the civil rights and other changes he was able to get done was an amazing experience. Wish he had the chance to do more. I had thought we came a long way from those days and I would often tell my mom I couldn’t imagine how it was, sadly I think I that although laws have changed, people still have bitter attitudes.

I did not know the Sixth Floor Museum was the building where the shooter took aim at Kennedy. It was interesting to relearn and discover new info on his presidency and that fateful Dallas trip.

He had so many great speeches and quotes, I like this one a lot right now: “Let us not seek the Republican answer or the Democratic answer, but the right answer. Let us not seek to fix the blame for the past. Let us accept our own responsibility for the future.” – JFK

Share Your Thought

