Posted in Generic Ones, Learning Lessons/Research Discoveries, On This Day, Reading Materials, State of Mind, Super Duper Easy

On This Day: #224 – Read or listen closely to “I Have a Dream”

I originally had this already checked off the list.  I did some school project (probably a few times) with the “I have a dream” speech.

However, the nation is celebrating the 50 year anniversary of when Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.  marched for civil rights in Washington D.C. and gave this speech.  So, I think it is fitting that it gets it’s own post on the day of.

I’m white (I admit it) and you might say the civil rights he was talking about didn’t affect me.  But I would say back to you that it HAS affected me.  I have grown up in a world where there is integration of races (even of sexes) in so many parts of my life.  I watch those old movies and history documentaries and cannot even begin to imagine how weird it would be to be surrounded with only other whites (and mainly females).  If I think hard about it, I could list all the things I that might be different nowadays if the way things were back then hadn’t changed.

I know there are still places that might be unchanged, but not where I am and not in the many places I’ve been to.

And you have to admit, his speech is pretty universal and touches the nerve to all.

My final thought as I listen to this speech on the day it first was spoken 50 years before; having  President Obama speak it and show history how far we’ve come in our cultural prejudices is pretty darn neat.

Share Your Thought

